Skip to content
May 25, 2013 / codenameandrea

The Job Hunt and How Not to Fail Spectacularly

So I’ve been job hunting for the better part of the past 2 months now, and so far, I still haven’t gone past the initial interview. In fact, most of the companies I’ve applied for don’t even contact me for an interview at all. Recently, I’ve been grappling with the massive loss of self-esteem that comes with constant rejection, but with a bit of reading around on the internet, especially in forums for fresh graduates, I’ve learned that I am definitely not alone in this and I’ve also learned some wonderful tips for next time.

As I am now something of a novice at NOT getting hired, these are the things that, according to the internet, I’ve been doing wrong.

  • Putting a picture on my CV – not necessarily a big no-no, but it’s better not to have one (or so I’ve been told)
  • Immediately applying for jobs that I want – thing is, there’s a huge chance that you’re going to suck in your first few interview experiences. It’s advisable to apply for whatever jobs just to “practice” being interviewed. Familiarize yourself with the process and the questions, make your mistakes and learn from them, and figure out how to improve before going for the job you really want.
  • Being discouraged by rejection – of course, being rejected sends that message that “you’re not good enough for this job” and that hurts, but keep in mind that there are hundreds of other applicants for that position and there will be dozens of other positions for you to try next time.
  • Winging it – I have this idea in my head that the more I prepare for an interview, the more nervous I will be. That may be true for some, but that’s not an excuse to just go there completely unprepared. It helps to at least practice speaking in English (you could begin by simply thinking in English)* out loud, to yourself. Prepare your answers for the typical interview questions, but be careful not to memorize them as you will sound robotic and insincere – just familiarize yourself with your answers. Practice until you get to the point where you could say the words comfortably without sounding like you’re just reciting from memory.
  • Not paying too much attention to my body language – If you’re nervous, they could tell, especially if you don’t pay attention to what the rest  of your body is doing while your mouth is doing all the answering. Initial interviews are usually just conducted for the purpose of gauging your communication skills and level of confidence. Try to coach your body into relaxing and looking professional. Don’t clasp your hands together, don’t fidget (or if you must, do it in a way that the interviewer can’t see), maintain eye contact (but don’t stare), sit up straight, smile.
  • Not asking questions – the thing is, it’s a bit hard to think of questions on the spot at the end of the interview. However, not asking questions can be seen as a sign of disinterest. I suggest you ask about the company culture, or about the position, or anything relevant.

The bottom line here is – be prepared and don’t be nervous. I know that “don’t be nervous” is terrible advice because well, it’s so easy to say but so hard to do, but really, it’s very important to be calm. Think about things that ease your mind, don’t feel like not getting this job is going to be the end of the world, TRY to think about this as just another conversation (albeit a fairly formal one with someone of a higher rank than you). Good luck to you (and to me as well)!

Leave a comment